Board of Supervisors Election

On November 8, 2016 voters in Kanabec County will elect four members of the SWCD Board of Supervisors to serve four-year terms.

The Role of SWCD Supervisor

The Kanabec SWCD is a special purpose unit of government that manages and directs natural resource management programs at the local level.  The District works in rural, lakeshore, and urban settings to carry out a program for the conservation, use, and development of soil, water, and related resources.  SWCD Supervisors serve four year terms and meet monthly, discussing the business of the SWCD, distributing state grant allocations to landowners, setting conservation priorities and coordinating conservation efforts with other local units of government and state agencies. SWCD Supervisors are not paid a salary; however, they do receive compensation for attending meetings and are reimbursed for expenses.

At-Large Election with Nominating Districts

Each Supervisor is elected at-large by all voters of Kanabec County. To ensure that the full g

Supervisor nominating districts

Supervisor nominating districts

eographic diversity of the County is represented on the Board, each seat must be filled by a resident of a particular nominating district.


In 2016, Supervisors will be chosen for Districts 1, 2, 3, and 5.


Nominating District 1
Brunswick, Grass Lake Townships; City of Grasston
– Kevin Belkholm (incumbent)

Nominating District 2
City of Mora
– No candidate on ballot
– Registered Write-In: Jan Anderson

Nominating District 3
Ann Lake, Kanabec, South Form, and Arthur Townships; City of Ogilvie
Paul Hoppe (incumbent)

Nominating District 5
Haybrook, Hillman, Kroschel, Peace, Pomroy, and Ford Townships
– No candidate on ballot
– Registered Write-In: Joyce Sawatzky

You may also like...